CDL Training Finder

Company-Paid CDL Training Programs Compared (2026)

Company-paid CDL training means a trucking company trains you, or pays a school to, in exchange for driving for them for a set time. The catch is in the contract. Leave early and many programs bill you for the training, sometimes several thousand dollars.

Here's how the programs compare, from each company's own recruiting pages.

Program terms change often. We list what each company's own pages said on the date shown; confirm the contract, payback amount and pay with the recruiter before you sign.

What the programs publish

20 programs compared

Company How it worksContractIf you leave earlyPay during trainingHiring area
Carter Express Mixed Not stated Not stated Not stated Training terminal in Anderson, Indiana
CFI Tuition reimbursement CFI makes your monthly tuition payments for the first 12 months of employment, then pays off the remaining balance, up to $5,000 total. Not stated Not stated Not stated
Covenant Transport Tuition reimbursement Not stated Not stated $600-$850/week as a student driver with a Certified Trainer Not stated
FFE Transportation Company school Not stated Not stated 4-day paid orientation after the academy, then up to $515.06/week during 6 weeks of training with a driver trainer Texas residents only; academy in Lancaster, TX
KLLM Company school 12-month commitment to drive for KLLM after graduation for entry-level students (6 months for refresher students) Not stated $200 incentive bonus during the 22-day class (Jackson, MS academy); $812/week while on the road with a certified KLLM trainer after graduation No-permit entry-level students from MS and LA; permit holders from AL, TX, GA, OH, IN, IL, KS, IA, MO, AR, TN, VA, PA
Knight Transportation Company school $5,200 tuition paid off over 52 weeks if hired, reimbursed after 104 weeks of employment Not stated $650-$850 per full week with an OTR trainer (varies by location posting) Schools in Phoenix AZ and Indianapolis IN plus partner schools; not hiring in all states
Leonard's Express Tuition reimbursement Reimbursement goes only to active Leonard's Class A drivers, paid at $47/week until the course cost is repaid (up to $10K) Not stated Not stated Regional fleets: Northwest (ID, OR, UT, WA), Midwest, Northeast (NY-PA-NJ-DE-MA-OH-MD), NC terminal; plus long-haul OTR
Melton Truck Lines Tuition reimbursement Not stated Not stated Student drivers: $800 for the 8-day pre-hire course, then $125/day for a minimum of 3 weeks with a trainer (pre-hire pay only if the course is completed) Not stated
Millis Transfer Company school Not stated Not stated $600/week during classroom instruction; $0.34/mile as a trainee Not stated
Nussbaum Transportation Mixed Not stated Not stated Not stated Normal, Illinois (Heartland Community College); students must be seeking an Illinois CDL
PAM Transport Pre-hire at partner school 6-month driving commitment after graduating from SDS; PAM covers 100% of tuition if fulfilled Not stated $100/week stipend for the 3 weeks of school (issued by the school); PAM pay starts once you have your CDL and begin with a PAM Driver Mentor Not stated
Paschall Truck Lines Tuition reimbursement Page advertises "No Contract OTR Training" Not stated Not stated Not stated
Prime Inc Company school Not stated Not stated At least $900/week with a trainer after passing the CDL exam if available for dispatch ($672/week minimum if available for dispatch and at home) Not stated
Roehl Company school 120,000 solo miles after training (program page says about 15 months; FAQ says about 18 months) Not stated $616 per full week during 3-week Phase 1; $112/day with a Driver Trainer in Phase 2 Near Roehl training terminals: Marshfield and Appleton (Neenah) WI, Gary IN (Chicago area), Conley GA (Atlanta), Phoenix AZ
Schneider Company school Not stated Not stated Not stated Must live in an area where a CAT program is available
Stevens Transport Mixed Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Swift Transportation Company school 26 consecutive months driving for Swift after receiving your license Not stated Not stated Must live within an academy's hiring area (academies include Phoenix AZ, Columbus OH, Corsicana TX, Edwardsville KS, Houston TX, Lewiston ID, Memphis TN, Richmond VA, Statesboro GA, West Valley City UT and others)
TMC Transportation Company school Drive for TMC one year after getting your CDL Prorated part of the cost of your training (amount not stated) $500/week at training facility and $500/week during over-the-road training Not stated
U.S. Xpress Pre-hire at partner school In most cases participants agree to drive for U.S. Xpress for a set amount of time after obtaining the CDL (length not stated) Not stated Not stated Not stated
Wilson Logistics Company school "We cover your training costs when you complete one year." Not stated $900/week guaranteed during on-the-road training with a certified trainer Not stated

"Not stated" means the program's own pages don't say; ask the recruiter. Last checked October 25, 2026.

How we compare programs

Payback terms are the most important number to check. Some programs forgive part of the cost for every month you drive; others bill the full amount if you leave early.

We include carriers whose recruiting pages describe a current training program. Programs that ended or whose pages we couldn't read aren't listed.

Each figure comes from the program's own pages, linked on its page with the date we read them. Tell us if something has changed.

Use this data

You're welcome to quote these figures in articles, posts and reports. Please credit CDL Training Finder with a link to this page.

CDL Training Finder, "Company-Paid CDL Training Programs Compared (2026)," https://cdltrainingfinder.com/company-paid-cdl-training (updated October 2026).

Data as of October 25, 2026. See how we collect and verify listings.