U.S. Xpress CDL Training: Contract, Payback and Pay (2026)
CDL School Partnership Program
Program terms change often. We list what each company's own pages said on the date shown; confirm the contract, payback amount and pay with the recruiter before you sign.
The terms
- How it works
- Pre-hire at partner school
- Upfront cost to you
- $0 up front for most students (tuition $5,200; optional housing $1,500)
- Contract
- In most cases participants agree to drive for U.S. Xpress for a set amount of time after obtaining the CDL (length not stated)
- If you leave early
- Not stated
- Pay during training
- Not stated
- Training length
- Not stated
- CDL class
- A
- Minimum age
- 21
- Hiring area
- Not stated
- Freight
- Not stated
- Solo or team after training
- Solo or team after completing training with a driver trainer
- Housing and travel paid
- Not stated
Scholarships: military and first-responder scholarships cover tuition and housing after 12 consecutive months (or 100,000 solo / 200,000 team miles); a familial-team scholarship covers tuition after 90,000 miles or 6 months as a team. Students at third-party schools may qualify for tuition reimbursement, and assistance with hotel and transportation is available 'depending on the program'.