CFI CDL Training: Contract, Payback and Pay (2026)
Student / Recent Graduate Driver Finishing program with Tuition Reimbursement
Program terms change often. We list what each company's own pages said on the date shown; confirm the contract, payback amount and pay with the recruiter before you sign.
The terms
- How it works
- Tuition reimbursement
- Upfront cost to you
- Not stated
- Contract
- CFI makes your monthly tuition payments for the first 12 months of employment, then pays off the remaining balance, up to $5,000 total.
- If you leave early
- Not stated
- Pay during training
- Not stated
- Training length
- About 3 weeks of on-the-road training with a Driver Finishing Instructor, then a test-out
- CDL class
- A
- Minimum age
- 21
- Hiring area
- Not stated
- Freight
- Not stated
- Solo or team after training
- Solo (own truck assigned after test-out)
- Housing and travel paid
- Not stated
You need a Class A CDL before orientation: CFI doesn't run or pay for CDL school up front, but it repays tuition after hire (up to $5,000). The qualifications list also says 'Tractor-trailer driving experience', which seems to conflict with the student positioning.
Compare with other programs
- Carter Express
- Covenant Transport
- FFE Transportation
- KLLM
- Knight Transportation
- Leonard's Express
- Melton Truck Lines
- Millis Transfer
- Nussbaum Transportation
- PAM Transport
- Paschall Truck Lines
- Prime Inc
- Roehl
- Schneider
- Stevens Transport
- Swift Transportation
- TMC Transportation
- U.S. Xpress
- Wilson Logistics