Swift Transportation CDL Training: Contract, Payback and Pay (2026)
Swift Academy
Program terms change often. We list what each company's own pages said on the date shown; confirm the contract, payback amount and pay with the recruiter before you sign.
The terms
- How it works
- Company school
- Upfront cost to you
- Little to no upfront cost with financial agreement (you pay permit, license and daily incidentals such as food)
- Contract
- 26 consecutive months driving for Swift after receiving your license
- If you leave early
- Not stated
- Pay during training
- Not stated
- Training length
- 4 weeks academy (including CDL road exams), then over-the-road training with a mentor
- CDL class
- A
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Hiring area
- Must live within an academy's hiring area (academies include Phoenix AZ, Columbus OH, Corsicana TX, Edwardsville KS, Houston TX, Lewiston ID, Memphis TN, Richmond VA, Statesboro GA, West Valley City UT and others)
- Freight
- Dry van or reefer
- Solo or team after training
- Solo
- Housing and travel paid
- Yes
Swift calls it a tuition-assistance program: education, books, hotel and transportation are covered when you sign the financial agreement; the payback amount for leaving early is not published. Swift also offers tuition reimbursement for third-party school grads (no terms published).