Nussbaum Transportation CDL Training: Contract, Payback and Pay (2026)
Nussbaum Trucking Academy at Heartland Community College / Student Sponsorship Program
Program terms change often. We list what each company's own pages said on the date shown; confirm the contract, payback amount and pay with the recruiter before you sign.
The terms
- How it works
- Mixed
- Upfront cost to you
- $4,900 course fee plus $50 DMV permit fee; Nussbaum pays the $730 deposit and $1,270 more in 10 monthly installments after hire ($2,000 total)
- Contract
- Not stated
- If you leave early
- Not stated
- Pay during training
- Not stated
- Training length
- 4 weeks full-time (day class) or 8 weeks part-time (night class)
- CDL class
- A
- Minimum age
- 21
- Hiring area
- Normal, Illinois (Heartland Community College); students must be seeking an Illinois CDL
- Freight
- Not stated
- Solo or team after training
- Not stated
- Housing and travel paid
- Not stated
This is a partial sponsorship at a community-college academy, not free training: Nussbaum pays $730 to the college at enrollment, then $1,270 in 10 monthly installments once you have your CDL, finish orientation and deliver your first load with a Nussbaum trainer. Nussbaum also covers the DOT physical and drug screen; veterans can get GI Bill pay during Nussbaum's post-graduation finishing program.